Christian, devotion, faith, Lenten Devotion, Presbyterian Church (USA), The Gospel of John, Uncategorized

Glimpses of Grace for the 24th Day of Lent, 2017

Devotional Text: John 6: 16-27. Morning Psalm 34; Evening Psalm 25

Text; I tell you the truth, you come looking for me not because you saw signs but because you had your fill of bread.  (Jesus, v. 26)

    What motivates you? Is it the promise of success and wealth and some preachers say that Jesus can give? Or it is because you want to experience God more fully? Is it because of what you want Christ to do for you, or because you want to do more for Christ?

Before I became a Minister of Word and Sacrament in the Presbyterian Church (USA) I had a brief career as a salesman. My agency manager encouraged me to join a particular church, not because he was concerned for my spiritual welfare but because of the business connections I could make. It seemed that his spirituality was based more on ROI (Return of Investment) than anything else.

The crowd met Jesus on the other side of the Sea of Galilee not because they wanted to know more about Him, but because He gave them bread. Bread and circus kills the spirit. You will never know Jesus–really know Him–until you quit asking what He will do for you, and start asking what you can do for Him. It’s all about losing our lives for the gospel’s sake.

Lord, let me put selfish desires aside and listen to Your voice as You lead me in serving Your Kingdom. Amen.

Standard

Leave a Reply

