Christian, devotion, Presbyterian Church (USA), Uncategorized, United Church of Christ (UCC)

Glimpses of Grace Daily Devotion for July 6, 2017

Devotional Reading from the Common Daily Lectionary: I Samuel 13: 5-18

Text: but Samuel did not come to Gilgal, and the people began to slip away from Saul. So Saul said, “Bring the burnt offering here to me, and the offerings of well-being.” And he offered the burnt offering. (vss 8b-9)

One of my biggest spiritual struggles is with Patience. I have to constantly remind myself to be patient. I don’t know if I’m worried that I will miss out on something or what the deal is, but I am pretty impatient.

Saul lost his kingship because of impatience. The prophet Samuel told Saul to wait for him to present an offering to the LORD before going into battle. Samuel did not show up when Saul expected, and Saul saw that his army was “slipping away” from him. He had to do something, soooo he presented the offering. Big mistake.

In his “spiritual” autobiography A Way Out of No Way Andrew Young wrote about a lesson in learning Patience. At first he thought that spending time singing hymns, praying and witnessing was wasting time. They gathered to march in an effort to desegregate. But then he discovered that gathering to worship was not a waste of time but a time of spiritual preparation.

Wait for the LORD, the Psalmist wrote. (Psalm 27:14) Wait in Jerusalem until you are clothed from on High, Jesus instructed His disciples.

Some things just cannot be rushed. God may not “come” when we expect but God is never late. God is always on time because all Time is God’s time.

Lord God, teach me the discipline of Patience. Help me to listen as well as speak, wait as well as act so that I may glorify You in all things.

Standard

Leave a Reply

