Christian, devotion, Mark, Presbyterian Church (USA), Uncategorized

Glimpses of Grace Daily Devotion for August 4, 2017

Devotional Reading: Mark 7: 24-37

Text: (Jesus) said to her, “Let the children be fed first, for it is not fair to take the children’s food and throw it to the dogs.” But she answered  Him, “Sir, even the dogs under the table eat the children’s crumbs.” (vss. 27 & 28)

There are a lot of things in life I do not understand. Cancer, for example. It hits the youngest and oldest, good and the bad alike. That seems most unfair. I don’t understand it.

It you read today’s devotional reading you are no doubt troubled by the exchange between Jesus and the woman asking Him to free her daughter from a demon. The majority of commentaries that I read say that Mark is the first gospel written and the most unedited. Other gospels may “clean it up” a bit but that doesn’t change the troubling nature of the story. If there is any good news to be had, it is that Jesus I exorcize the child’s demon. But, it’s still troubling, and I still don’t understand. I doubt I ever will, this side of the grave.

Yet, I don’t need to understand the story or even much of life in order to be faithful. I know that God is good, that God is love, and that perfect love casts out fear. I know that God does not need my understanding to redeem the broken. I know that God can bring “possible” out of the “impossible”. As the old gospel hymn declared, God can make a way out of no way.

Lord, thank You for not depending upon my small mind to understand Your ways. Bless my questioning and my doubting. Redeem my brokenness and the brokenness of this world. Amen.

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

